Record entries for 2019 Australia’s Wine List of the Year

April 8, 2019
By Alana House

Entries for the 2019 Australia’s Wine list of the Year Awards have now closed with a record number of 424 entries from Australia’s finest restaurants, hotels, clubs, wine bars, pubs, cafes and brasseries across the country – including 20% new entrants to the awards.

The judges are now hard at work seeking Australia’s best wine lists and the weeks ahead will determine who will be celebrated as Australia’s best in 2019.

The 30-strong judging panel includes highly respected local and international Master Sommeliers, Masters of Wine, wine communicators and previous award winners assessing this year’s lists.

Lists are ranked with one to three glasses. The best of the best are then in contention for the top awards. In addition to best list in the country and best in each state, entrants can also submit their lists in a diverse range of categories including venue type as well as best listings of wines by the glass, food and wine, showcases of regional wines or other speciality beverages.

Since the awards were first established in 1993 by Rob Hirst and Tucker Seabrook, the quality of Australian wine lists has grown in line with the exceptional cuisine now offered across restaurants, wine bars, hotels, clubs and pubs.

The first winner in 1994 was Peter and Beverley Doyle’s Sydney restaurant Cicada. The most recent winner of the leading wine list in Australia was Aria Brisbane, created by Ian Trinkle (below).

The Drinks Association is the official Trade Communications Partner of Australia’s Wine List of the Year Awards.

“Our mission is to inform, strengthen and connect the Australian drinks industry and this event is a wonderful opportunity to celebrate the achievements of sommeliers and venues throughout Australia,” said Georgia Lennon, CEO, The Drinks Association. ”We look forward to toasting the winners and sharing their stories in Drinks Trade magazine and via our digital media platforms.” 

The winners of Australia’s Wine List of the Year 2019 will be revealed at an awards presentation on July 22.

Share the content

Related Posts