IWC reveals 2019’s best Aussie wines

May 10, 2019
By Alana House

Australian wines have scooped an impressive haul of trophies and medals at the International Wine Challenge (IWC) in London.

Described by the IWC as the “best of the best”, the 2019 trophy winners were chosen from gold medal-winning wines that have undergone further rigorous blind tasting by a panel of international wine experts.

One of the highest scoring wines in the entire competition was a wine from Tasmania – the Tolpuddle Vineyard Chardonnay 2017 received an impressive 97 points from the judges.

It was described as “a world class modern Australian Chardonnay. Combining struck match with beautiful peach and citrus fruit. Flint and sea shell minerality and epic length.”

Winemaker Adam Wadewitz said: “I guess we always knew that the 2017 vintage was pretty special in Tasmania. The season was astonishing; late and cool, and it produced wines with that rarely seen ‘balance and intensity’ combination. And to be judged the best Australian white wine at this level is just awesome.”

South Australia gained nearly half of Australia’s Gold tally – with 33 wines scoring 95 points or more. 

Bird in Hand was the region’s top producer, gaining four Gold medals – two from Adelaide Hills and two from Mount Lofty, including the Syrah 2017 which scored 96/100 points. The other 96-point Shiraz in the competition was also from Adelaide Hills – Zonte’s Footstep’s Hills Are Alive 2017.

The Aussie trophy winners

Champion of Champions Shortlist: Morris Old Rare Liqueur Premium Topaque NV

Australian White Trophy: Tolpuddle Vineyard Chardonnay 2017

Australian Fortified Trophy: Morris Old Premium Rare Liqueur Muscat NV

Australian Red Trophy: Bird in Hand Syrah 2017  

Australian Chardonnay Trophy: Tolpuddle Vineyard Chardonnay 2017

Margaret River Cabernet Sauvignon Trophy: Victory Point Cabernet Sauvignon 2015

NSW Chardonnay Trophy: McGuigan Cellar Select Chardonnay 2017

Tasmania Chardonnay Trophy: Tolpuddle Vineyard Chardonnay 2017

Western Australia Chardonnay Trophy: Flametree S.R.S. Wallcliffe Chardonnay 2017

Eden Valley Riesling Trophy: McGuigan Shortlist Riesling 2013

Hunter Valley Semillon Trophy: Tempus Two Uno Semillon 2014

Western Australia Sauvignon Semillon Trophy: Domaine Naturaliste Sauvage 2017

Cross-Regional Australian Chardonnay Trophy: Eileen Hardy Chardonnay 2016

South Australian Chardonnay Trophy: Penfolds Bin A Chardonnay 2017

Rutherglen Muscat Trophy: Morris Old Premium Rare Liqueur Muscat NV

Rutherglen Trophy: Morris Old Premium Rare Liqueur Muscat NV

Rutherglen Topaque Trophy: Morris Classic Topaque Liqueur NV

Hilltops Shiraz Trophy: 660 Reserve Shiraz 2017 McWilliams 

Adelaide Hills Shiraz Trophy: Bird in Hand Syrah 2017  

South Australian Red Trophy: Bird in Hand Syrah 2017

South Australian Shiraz Trophy: Bird in Hand Syrah 2017

Clare Valley Shiraz Trophy: Taylor Made Shiraz 2017

Coonawarra Shiraz Trophy: Wynns Coonawarra Estate Michael Shiraz 2015

Eden Valley Shiraz Trophy: Avon Brae Moculta Eden Valley Shiraz 2017

McLaren Vale Grenache Trophy: Basket Pressed Grenache 2016 Reynella 

Mount Lofty Shiraz Trophy: Bird in Hand Shiraz 2017 Bird in Hand 

International Winemaker of the Year finalists announced

Five Australians are among the 17 shortlisted finalists for International Winemaker of the Year at the 2019 International Wine Challenge.

Neil McGuigan from McGuigan Wines has been shortlisted for International White Winemaker of the Year; Dylan Lee from Bird in Hand and Chris Hatcher and Steven Frost from Wolf Blass Wines have been shortlisted IWC Red Winemaker of the Year; and David Morris from Morris Wines has been shortlisted for Fortified Winemaker of the Year.

Neil McGuigan said: “This is the fourth time we have been shortlisted by the International Wine Challenge for the International White Winemaker of the Year award, winning it three times in 2009, 2011 and 2012.

“The results are a great achievement and credit to our winemaking team, which show the commitment to making quality wine with outstanding fruit purity.”

The winners will be announced at the IWC 2019 Awards Dinner, to be held on July 9, 2019, at the Grosvenor House Hotel, Park Lane, London.

Click here for all the medal winners.

Share the content

Related Posts