Sommelier at Crown Sydney’s TWR named New South Wales’ best

May 26, 2021
By Ioni Doherty

The 2021 NSW Sommelier’s Wine List of the Year was awarded to Matthew Brooks from TWR, Crown Sydney at a ceremony hosted at Government House by the Governor of New South Wales, Margaret Beazley AC QC on Monday night. (Brooke is pictured above with Yohan Jeandon from TWR, Crown Sydney with Mark Bourne, President of NSW Wine.)

Brooks also won in the new category of 2021 Best NSW Wine List in a Sydney accommodation venue for the same list described by the judges as “a very well-constructed list with strong depth in almost all areas”.

The annual awards are conducted by NSW Wine and this year were judged by Dane Richards – General Manager, Australia, Gault & Millau), wine educator and critic, Ned Goodwin MW and Mark Baulderstone – Managing Director, Riedel Spiegelau Nachtmann Australia.

The six winners on the night were chosen from 38 finalist sommeliers whose venues are now entitled to display 2021 NSW Wine Stars.

David Collins from Charred Kitchen & Bar, Orange received the 2021 NSW Wine President’s Award for Outstanding Support of the NSW Wine Industry. The award is presented at the discretion of the President of the NSW Wine Industry Association, Mark Bourne, who said, “David’s list hosts 244 wines from all over NSW (840 wines in total), making it arguably the biggest list of NSW wines in the country”.

  • Louella Mathews from bibo wine bar in Double Bay won 2021 Best NSW Wine List in a Sydney venue
  • Matt Underwood from The Newcastle Club, Newcastle for 2021 Best NSW Wine List in a Regional NSW accommodation venue
  • Pete Cutcliffe from Bill’s Fishhouse, Port Macquarie 2021 Best NSW Wine List in a Regional NSW venue – large, collected this award for the second year in a row
  • David Lowe from The Zin House, Mudgee was awarded 2021 Best NSW Wine List in a Regional NSW venue 

Brooks and Collins receive free entry into the 2021 Australia’s Wine List of the Year Awards.

2021 NSW Sommelier’s Wine List Awards Presentation at Government House – Monday 24th May, 2021 Photographer: Belinda Rolland © 2021

2021 #NSWWineStars

Atelier by Sofitel, Sydney                                       Avalon Restaurant, Katoomba

Bangalay Dining, Shoalhaven Heads                    Bar Florian, Port Macquarie

bibo wine bar, Sydney                                             Bills Fishhouse and Bar, Port Macquarie

Birch Restaurant, Moss Vale                                   Birdie Noshery & Drinking Est, Orange

Black Bar & Grill, The Star Sydney                         BOILERHOUSE at Q Station, Accor Sydney          

Charred Kitchen and Bar, Orange                          Esca, Pokolbin

Eschalot Restaurant, Berrima                                 EXP Restaurant, Pokolbin

Fix Wine Bar + Restaurant, Sydney                        Flying Fish, The Star Sydney

International Convention Centre Sydney               Jackalberry, Grand Hyatt Sydney

Lolli Redini Restaurant, Orange                              Muse Kitchen, Hunter Valley

Muse Kitchen, Lorn                                                   Nel Restaurant, Sydney

O Bar and Dining, Sydney                                        One Penny Red, Sydney

Pilu at Freshwater, Sydney                                      Public Dining Room, Sydney

Quay Restaurant, Sydney                                        Redsalt Restaurant, Crown Plaza Pokolbin

Sean’s Bondi, Sydney                                              SOUTH on Albany, Berry

Tattersalls Club, Sydney                                          The Gantry, Pier One Sydney 

The Newcastle Club, Newcastle                              The Robertson Hotel, Robertson

The Throsby, Wollongong                                        The Zin House, Mudgee

TWR, Crown Sydney                                                Wandin Kitchen, Lovedale

Share the content

Related Posts