Rachel Triggs joins the Australian Women in Wine advisory board

February 5, 2024
By Cody Profaca

Rachel Triggs is set to be the newest member of the Australian Women in Wine’s (AWIW) Advisory Board for 2024. 

Rachel will step into the role following more than 10 years at Wine Australia, including one and a half years in her latest position as Head of Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) and Market Access.

“Australian Women in Wine is a gem of the Australian grape and wine community and I’m thrilled to be joining its advisory board,” said Rachel.

“Like many female winemakers, I gave up my winemaking career after falling pregnant with my first child – I simply didn’t think I had a choice. Fast forward fifteen years, and I’ve found myself at the other end of the spectrum where the representation of women in leadership in the Australian grape and wine sector is dismal. The affirmative action being taken by AWIW aims to raise awareness about the challenges and opportunities of gender equality in the sector is invaluable.”

Founded in 2015 by Jane Thomson OAM as the Australian Women in Wine Awards, the AWIW transitioned into its current form in 2023 to better reflect the breadth of its scope. The AWIW is an initiative of The Fabulous Ladies’ Wine Society that strives for positive change in regards to gender equality in Australia’s liquor industry. 

“The AWIW works tirelessly to advocate for gender equality across the sector and I’m blown away by what it has achieved since inception, including the highly successful awards program, the world’s first survey of women in wine, and most recently the national symposium in Sydney that saw 150 women in wine gather from across the regions,” said Rachel.

Jane Thomson, founder and chair of AWIW, was awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) in June 2023 for her services to women in the oenology sector. 

“We are thrilled to welcome Rachel Triggs to our Advisory Board (which we like to call the Action Board!),” she said.

“Her wealth of experience, her unique skill set as both a winemaker and lawyer, and her incredible passion for diversity are all huge assets for AWIW. We look forward to working together to drive positive change in the Australian wine industry.”

The Action Board members for 2024 will include Corrina Wright, Jeni Port, Alexia Roberts, Shirley Fraser, Dr. Catherine Kidman, Rebekah Richardson, Rachel Triggs, and Jane Thomson OAM.

Share the content