Queensland’s Range reigns supreme at Indies

November 20, 2020
By Ioni Doherty

Range Brewing in Newstead, Queensland, took out Champion Beer and Champion IPA for its Fahrenheit IPA, as well as being named Champion Small/Medium Brewery and Queensland State Champion.

Other major winners announced last night included Dainton Brewery (Victoria) for Champion Large Brewery, and Moffat Beach Brewing Co (Queensland) for Champion Brew Pub.

“Each year the Indies is celebrated as part of BrewCon which provides a fantastic opportunity for us to come together as a community, however this year the world changed and therefore so did we,” said Pete Philip, Independent Brewers Association Chairman.

“The Indies Project Group and the IBA Team quickly reinvented the event which resulted in close to 700 entries, 32 judges working in Brisbane, Perth and Newcastle and a live ceremony that included crosses to more than 40 nominees and state parties around the nation. A mammoth effort for a very small team.”

The Independent Beer Awards is a celebration of independent beer, the people who create it and production innovation. It aims to build a long-lasting future for our industry by ensuring quality, locally owned products are in the marketplace.

The Independent Brewers Association represents over 600 small and medium business in every state and territory across Australia with most members located in regional areas.

Michael Capaldo of Hop Products Australia, and Indies Project Group Lead, said: “We crowned champions and gave feedback to help nurture future trophy and medal winners.

“I was particularly impressed with the rise in quality of packaged beer. The first Indies competition in 2014 was similarly restricted to packaged product only, and I remember that the quality was definitely not what it is in 2020, it has gone through the roof.

“This is a great compliment to the maturity of Australian independents and to our brewers, who give their blood, sweat, and tears to make every batch better than the last.”

Overall Champions:

Champion Brew Pub Award : Moffat Beach Brewery

Champion Small/Medium Brewery Award: Range Brewing

Champion Large Brewery Award: Dainton Brewery

Champion Indie Beer Award: Range Brewing, Fahrenheit IPA

State Champions:

New South Wales State Champion presented by the NSW Government: Wayward Brewing Co

Victorian State Champion: Dainton Brewery

Queensland State Champion: Range Brewing

South Australian State Champion: Loophole Brewing Co.

West Australian State Champion: BentSpoke Brewing Co. (ACT)

Tasmanian State Champion: Moo Brew

Share the content

Related Posts