Australian Women in Wine Awards finalists announced

October 20, 2020
By Ioni Doherty

The board of the Australian Women in Wine Awards (AWIWA) has announced the 2020 finalists with the awards to be presented at 7.30pm on Tuesday, 24 November.

In a year like no other, founding AWIWA Advisory Board member and highly lauded wine journalist, Jeni Port said the collection of entries was particularly strong in this year, of all years.

“I think this is something that brings this year’s awards into their own. We asked entrants to tell us about their year, including the challenges, and they all rose to the occasion,” said Ms. Port. “What’s more, their businesses often thrived. And they learnt so much more about themselves and their abilities. It’s been wonderful to read their stories.” 

Three finalises were announced in each category, except in that of the Champion of Diversity and Equality, in which the judges have selected just two.

The finalists in each award category (in alphabetical order by surname): 

Cellar Door Person of the Year – sponsored by Langton’s

  • Jess Greatwich – Krondorf Creek Farm (SA)
  • Paris Hokin – Arlewood Estate (WA)
  • Samantha Mitchell – First Drop Wines (SA)

Winemaker of the Year – sponsored by Tonnellerie Saint Martin

  • Natalie Cleghorn – Yalumba & Hill-Smith Family Vineyards (SA)
  • Natalie Fryer – Bellebonne Wine Company (Tas)
  • Cate Looney – Brown Family Wine Group (Vic)

Viticulturist of the Year – sponsored by Wine Australia

  • Brooke Howell – Yalumba Family Winemakers (SA) 
  • Cath Kidman – Wynns Coonawarra (SA) 
  • Alexandra Miller – Voyager Estate (WA) 

Champion of Diversity & Equality – sponsored by Australian Grape & Wine

  • Curly Haslam-Coates – Vintage Tasmania (Tas) 
  • Helen Strachan – Pernod Ricard Winemakers (SA) 

Owner/Operator of the Year – sponsored by Bacchus Academy 

  • Melissa Brown – Gemtree Wines (SA) 
  • Laura Carter – Unico Zelo (SA) 
  • Lisa Margan – Margan Estate (NSW) 

Marketer of the Year – sponsored by denomination 

  • Trish Barry – Mastermind Consulting (NSW) 
  • Emily Hay – Barossa Grape & Wine Association (SA) 
  • Kristen Zerk – Z Wine (SA) 

The seventh award category, Woman of Inspiration, is a judges’ choice award determined by the AWIWA Advisory Board. No entry is required, and the winner will be announced on the awards night.

AWIWA 2020 Awards Ceremony – Tuesday 24 November at 7.30pm AEST

The 2020 AWIWA ceremony which will be live streamed via the Australian Women in Wine Facebook page, broadcast in partnership with Langton’s TV from their Sydney studio. Get ready to get your glamour on and be part of the best and most fun wine awards show of the year! 

As in previous years, each wine region and wine business is being encouraged to host their own watch party to cheer on all the finalists and winners. Watch parties can be registered here on the AWIWA website to demonstrate your support.

Share the content

Related Posts