Asahi Super Dry is the official beer for the 2023 Rugby World Cup

April 28, 2021
By Ioni Doherty

In a brand new global partnership Asahi Super Dry has been selected as the Official Beer for the Rugby World Cup 2023 in France. The partners share a passion for excellence and creating unforgettable moments.

Although rugby fans enjoyed and embraced the unique taste of modern Japan at the Rugby World Cup 2019, Heineken was the official beer for that tournament.

The partnership reflects Asahi’s ambitions to gain international territory, part of Asahi’s strategy for its Global Premium Brands, including Asahi Super Dry. Partnering with the Rugby World Cup 2023, the business says, supports the success of the competition as well as the the international growth in awareness of the Asahi brand and its revenue.

Asahi Europe & International Chief Marketing Officer, Grant McKenzie said,“Rugby World Cup France 2023 and Asahi Super Dry share a declared passion for creating memorable and moving occasions. Through this partnership, Japan’s leading beer, Asahi Super Dry, will be delivered to a truly global audience in over 200 territories. We look forward to sharing the unique taste of modern Japan with rugby fans around the world.”

World Rugby Chief Executive, Alan Gilpin said, “Asahi is a Japanese brand with big global ambitions and in many ways this deal reflects the glowing legacy of the 2019 tournament, which has driven huge interest from Japanese and wider Asia brands in Rugby World Cup, having witnessed how successful it can be in bringing a host nation together, attracting fans from around the world and creating new business partnerships.”

World Rugby Chairman, Sir Bill Beaumont agreed,Their appointment not only reflects the prestige and truly international appeal of our event, but of the power of a growing, global sport to reach and engage new audiences.” 

The 2023 Rugby World Cup takes place in France from 8 September – 28 October. Twenty countries participate including South Africa, England, Wales, New Zealand, Japan, France, Australia, Ireland, Scotland, Italy, Argentina, Fiji with the remaining 8 to be determined by a global qualification process.

Share the content

Related Posts